Who's Next?

More Essays in Memory of Walter and Katherine Eells (Country Doctor, Vol. 2)

by Robert J. Eells



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 22/01/2007

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5x8
Page Count : 148
ISBN : 9781425960094

About the Book

About the Author

Robert J. Eells is Professor of History and Political Science at Spring Arbor University in Michigan.  He has taught for thirty-one years—previously at Geneva College in Pennsylvania, Rockmont College in Colorado, and at Trinity Christian College in Illinois.  Professor Eells has his B.S. from Geneva College, an M.A. from Union College in New York State, and a Ph.D. from the University of New Mexico in American Studies.  Dr. Eells is the author of Country Doctor: Essays in Memory of Walter E. Eells, M.D. (2001) and two previous biographies—Lonely Walk: the Life of Senator Mark O. Hatfield (1979), and Forgotten Saint: the Life of Theodore Frelinghuysen (1987). He is also the author of about twenty articles—mostly about religion and politics—and a dozen book reviews.

Because his father—Walter E. Eells—had his medical office right in his home and his own hospital across the street, many of the stories in Country Doctor and Who’s Next? were witnessed by his son, Robert, or were related directly to him by other family members, friends, or long-time patients.  And because the author for a time considered medicine as a vocation, he “experienced” some of these stories existentially by assuming the role of a young “Dr. Kildare” during the 1960s—as a high school and college student.  As a result, he was privileged to witness and experience a type of medicine which—sadly but understandably—no longer exists.

Dr. Eells is married to Janice (Johnson) formerly of Albuquerque, New Mexico and they have two children—Richard and Anne.  The family resides in Jackson, Michigan.