by Lukas, S.K.; Jid the Kid



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 02/04/2014

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 8.5x11
Page Count : 44
ISBN : 9781491871119

About the Book

BOOK(S) BY LUKAS/S K/JID THE KID Consider a “series” dealing with a boy and girl living through some of America’s special time periods. As the series progresses, they will have offspring who will continue to live through significant time periods, etc. We will begin the series during the slave period in America (1840’s and through the 1860’s). The significant periods will be as follows: 1. Civil War and just after (1845-1866) 2. Post-Civil War and Reconstruction and Industrial Revolution (1866-1915) 3. World War I to the Great Depression (1915-1928) 4. Great Depression through World War II (1929-1945) 5. Post-World War II through the 1950’s (1945-1960) 6. The 1960’s 7. The 1970’s and 1980’s 8. The 1990’and the 21st Century This series will aim at young people so as to educate them about America’s progression through the past 150+ years. The goal is to allow them to better understand what has happened in our history to make us who we are. The learning experiences that will occur, hopefully, will happen before they are asked to learn about the past in school. We will look at these periods through the eyes of the original pair of young people and continue with the generations they father and mother. Hopefully, the younger generations will better understand who and what America is and was. This should enable them to do better in Social Studies and related classes they will have to take in school. Understanding the past will allow for a better understanding of what we might expect in the future. It should also give those who read these stories a greater desire to want to know more about the past. Many of the stories told are through the eyes of the three authors—a 13-year-old boy, a 9-year-old girl, and their grandfather (slightly older than they are). Relating events that took place during each generation, through their eyes, can put “life” into those events. Including additional circumstances that happened can also add significant “fun facts” that the reader should find interesting and curious. We want history to come to life for each young person who reads this series. GET READY TO HAVE SOME FUN AND LEARN A LITTLE BIT AT THE SAME TIME! Blog site has been set up for interaction with the readers. It will be active sometime in March, 2014. It is titled, “” Copyright c 2013 Ken Hanna. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Lukas—I am Luke Moran and I am 13 years old. I am currently in 8th grade and am anxious to go to high school. I enjoy playing/watching sports, such as football and basketball. S. K.—Hello! My name is Sarah Kendall Moran, and I am a 4th grader. I have many fascinating addictions. I love giving advice, I love, love, love Taylor Swift, dogs, and movies. I love being 9 since I get to act more mature and have more fun. Jid the Kid—I am Ken Hanna and I am a little older than they are. I am a retired high school teacher and coach. One of the subjects I loved teaching was U. S. History, so that might have something to do with the theme of these books.