Where Egrets Flew

by Ken Barker


Formats

Hardcover
£18.58
Hardcover
£18.58

Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 11/14/2003

Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 320
ISBN : 9781414022475

About the Book

Where Egrets Flew is a historical fiction novel set in the mid 1800s, an epic adventure about the Spriggs family who traveled from the foothills of Georgia to the semi-tropical wilderness of south-central Florida.  Where Egrets Flew relates their encounters with settling in the harsh and wild frontier and their struggles in eventually building a vast cattle empire from the wild-eyed, long-horned scrub cattle that had inhabited the land since the sixteenth century.  Where Egrets Flew is a story of men and women who faced Indians, war, wild beasts, and other elemental hazards.  Where Egrets Flew is a story of love, passion, and the loss of loved ones.  It is a book written in the tradition of John Jakes, Louis L’Amour, and Patrick Smith, the author’s favorite writers.  This is one of those novels you will have difficulty putting down. 


About the Author

Ken Barker, a graduate of Florida State University, has lived in central Florida for more than fifty years.  His passion for the early history of the area and his deep desire to accurately portray the pioneers, the wilderness, and the wildlife as it was from 1843 to the 1870s prompted him to research and write this historical fiction novel.  Barker masterfully intertwines his fictional characters with real pioneers, and their trials, tribulations, and accomplishments, and real events.  He has vividly and in splendid detail recreated central Florida’s semi-tropical environment, combining fourteen years of exhaustive research into the period and his personal knowledge of the countryside. 

Barker is a retired investment executive and former practicing CPA.  He is an avid fisherman and has fished many of the lakes depicted in his novel.