Panzer Leader and the Red Menace

by Dr. Robert von Cocktail


Formats

Softcover
£12.16
£11.75
Softcover
£11.75

Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 11/12/2003

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 408
ISBN : 9781410787149

About the Book

Panzer Leader and the Red Menace recounts combat operations in an M1A1 Main Battle Tank in West Germany and Operation Desert Storm.

Centered in Germany, Panzer Leader and the Red Menace walks the reader through military operations from the inside; engaging a battalion of enemy tanks, sweating like a runaway slave in full chemical gear, field operations with the NATO and the new German Army, or waking up in an alcoholic haze to discover that you've been recalled to active duty for Operation Desert Storm.

Not only will it take you through the entire military experience, it will also give you glimpses into a Europe that only the American service member can truly experience; whether it is drunken stumbling through Amsterdam's Red Light District on the Queen's Birthday or trashing the beach in Yugoslavia before that country disintegrated into civil war.

You'll be in the tank, pulling triggers with soldiers that are mentally and morally bankrupt, as well as weathering the largest active duty recall since the Viet Nam War.  Desert Storm was not quite what CNN advertised, and you'll see it here firsthand. In the tradition of MASH or Catch-22, Panzer Leader is an experience.


About the Author

Dr Cocktail was a tank commander for five years in the late 80s, squandering government resources and working brain cells daily in West Germany while keeping the Warsaw Pact at bay.  As part of NATO's first line of defense, he was instrumental in deterring armed aggression as well as keeping German breweries operating at a fever pitch.  Today, he is retired in Colorado, critiquing armored warfare on television from a barstool at the golf course.