Author Resources
Free Publishing Guide

Author Interview

Tips from AuthorHouse's Most Published Author

AuthorHouse's Most Published Author, Bruce Kimmel shares some valuable author advice. It's primary approach on writing is not to overthink.



Deadline: September 21, 2014
Three Cheers and a Tiger Science Fiction/Fantasy Writing Contest
This autumn, join the 48-hour Sci-Fi/Fantasy Writing Contest of the Toasted Cheese Literary Journal. It will open at 5:00 p.m. EST on September 19, 2014, and will end at 5:00 p.m. EST on September 21, 2014. All stories submitted will be blind-judged by Toasted Cheese editors Lisa “Deoris” Olson and Ana George. The winners will be announced on October 31, 2014, and will receive Amazon gift cards. Their stories will also be published in the December issue of the journal.

Deadline: September 30, 2014
L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest
Although recently more known for founding the Church of Scientology, L. Ron Hubbard is a legendary fantasy and science fiction author, and his namesake contest will aim to find the best and brightest new writers to follow in that tradition. Works are selected every three months, with up to $1,000 in prize money up for grabs.

Deadline: September 30, 2014
Family Matters
Glimmer Train is looking for stories ”about families of all configurations” told in 12,000 words or less. Up to three stories can be submitted, with each story to be accompanied by a $15 reading fee. Winners and finalists will be announced in the December 1 bulletin and will receive cash prizes and copies of the Glimmer Train issue in which their story is published.

Deadline: October 15, 2014
William Van Dyke Short Story Prize
Ruminate Magazine is inviting writers to submit their stories of 5,500 words or less for the William Van Dyke Short Story Prize. The entry fee is $20 per story, which includes a free copy of the magazine. There is no limit to the number of stories per submission. Ten finalists will be selected by a panel of Ruminate readers. From among the shortlisted entries, the winner and the runner-up will be chosen.

Deadline: October 20, 2014
Cutthroat Poetry and Fiction Awards
This year, Cutthroat is holding a poetry and short-story contest. The Joy Harjo Poetry Award will be given to a collection of three unpublished poems, and the Rick DeMartinis Short Story Award will be given to an unpublished short story. Entries for both genres can be about any subject and written in any style. The entry fee for each submission is $17. Martin Espada, 2012 International Latino Book Award recipient will judge the poems, and Bobbie Ann Mason, 2012 Kentucky Book Award recipient, will judge the short stories.

Deadline: November 15, 2014
30 Below Contest
Writers between eighteen and thirty are invited to join Narrative's 30 Below Contest. All works of prose and poetry written in any style are accepted but must adhere to the word/length limits: prose must be up to 15,000 words only, while poetry collections must be up to five poems only. There is a $22 fee for each entry. Narrative’s editors will stand as judges. The following are the prizes winners and finalists will receive: First Prize, $1,500; Second Prize, $750; Third Prize, $300; and ten finalists will be given $100 each.

Deadline: November 30, 2014
Danahy Fiction Prize
Tampa Review's Danahy Fiction Prize will be awarded to an unpublished short fiction. Short-story entries must be submitted with a $20 entry fee. The winner will be chosen by the editors and will receive $1,000, publication in Tampa Review, and a one-year subscription to the magazine.

Deadline: December 15, 2014
First Crime Novel Competition
Minotaur Books is holding a free competition for any writer over 18 years old to find the best crime-fiction or traditional-mystery manuscript of over 65,000 words. With $10,000 in prize money on the line, it’s a mad dash to spin the perfect murder mystery before the competition closes

Deadline: April 30, 2015
The Dante Rossetti Awards - Young Adult Novels Writing Contest 2015
Open to published works as well as unpublished manuscripts, the Dante Rossetti Awards is hosted by the Chanticleer Book Review. Winning books will be placed on the Chanticleer bookshelves, be featured in the CBR, and a total of $3,500 will be awarded. The first-prize winners in each category will be entered in the running for the grand prize award later in the year.