Where Do We Go From Here?

by Derrick J. Johnson



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 10/14/2021

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 5x8
Page Count : 174
ISBN : 9781665538022
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 174
ISBN : 9781665538190

About the Book

“And Leaves Shall Fall, And Orchids Will Wither … But Is That All?” Written during his teenage years (1988-1999), Where Do We Go From Here? expands upon the emotional depths explored in Derrick J. Johnson’s 2001 debut, The Awakening of the Dreamer, while breaking new creative ground as well. This book features four distinctly themed collections of poems. Carnival is a light-hearted journey through the circus of life, which features poems such as “Holy Water” and “Harlequin.” The second collection, Heroes is themed around the concept of heroism and includes highlights like “Superman is Dead” and “JFK.” The overall tone shifts with the next collection, Grey, which focuses on the areas of light and dark within human nature. Highlights of this collection include “And Orchids Will Wither,” and “Road Kill.” The final collection, Acid, deals with the emotions that build up inside and destroy us from within. It features poems such as “Running Water” and the epic poem, “The Tides of Time.”

About the Author

DERRICK JUSTIN JOHNSON is an award-winning writer and director, best known for his films, On Borrowed Time, Victim and Clean Up on Aisle Nine. Johnson is a native of Ocala, Florida and currently resides in North Miami Beach. He is also a practicing attorney in the South Florida area as well as a writer with over twenty years of experience as a novelist, screenplay writer, poet, and columnist (most notably, as the last columnist to helm the legendary A View from the Bricks column from the University of Miami School of Law’s newspaper, Res Ispa Loquitur). Where Do We Go From Here? is the follow-up to Johnson’s 2001 book of poetry, The Awakening of the Dreamer. This is Johnson’s second complete book of published poetry.