Great American Hotel Architects Volume 2

by Stanley Turkel CMHS



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 10/27/2020

Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 236
ISBN : 9781665502511
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 236
ISBN : 9781665502535
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 236
ISBN : 9781665502528

About the Book

The fourteen architects featured in this book designed 304 hotels and apartment hotels. Many were designed on the European plan for families to live without full service kitchens. Meals were prepared and served in restaurant-type dining rooms catering exclusively to residents and their families. The apartment hotels employed full-time service staffs who prepared and served daily room service meals. The first apartment hotels were built between 1880 and 1895. They were followed by a second wave of construction after the passage of the 1899 building code and the 1901 Tenement House Law. The third wave of apartment hotel construction occurred during the 1920s and ended with the Great Depression of the thirties. The passage of the Multiple Dwelling Act of 1929 altered height and bulk restrictions and permitted high-rise apartment buildings for the first time.

About the Author

STANLEY TURKEL is a recognized authority and consultant in the hotel industry. He operates his hotel consulting practice serving as an expert witness in hotel-related cases and providing asset management. Prior to forming his own hotel consulting firm, Turkel was the Product Line Manager of Hotel/Motel operations at the International Telephone & Telegraph Company overseeing the Sheraton Corporation of America. Before joining IT&T, he was the General Manager of the Summit Hotel (762 Rooms), General Manager of the Drake Hotel (680 Rooms) and Resident Manager of the American Hotel (1842 Rooms), all in New York City. Turkel is certified as a Master Hotel Supplier Emeritus by the Educational Institute of the American Hotel and Lodging Association. Stanley Turkel is one of the most widely-published authors in the hospitality industry in the United States. In 2014 and 2015, he was designated as the Historian of the Year by the Historic Hotels of America, the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.