River Bend

by Nick Wright



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 11/20/2019

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 490
ISBN : 9781728336541
Format : Hardcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 490
ISBN : 9781728336527
Format : E-Book
Dimensions : N/A
Page Count : 490
ISBN : 9781728336534

About the Book

It started with the mysterious disappearance of a king’s ransom in gold ingots from the docks of Charleston, South Carolina. Gold intended to influence the Confederate States to favor France in her trade agreements after the South won the American Civil War. It became a story of vengeance, envy, revenge, and betrayal. It is a story of love lost but never forgotten, of dedication to family and to duty. It tells of a family torn apart … and reunited; a bond that overcomes time and distance and illness and old wounds. It all came to a dramatic climax in a small village along the Missouri River in Kansas.

About the Author

Nick Wright, a third generation Arkansan born in Arkadelphia and raised in Benton, is a retired educator, high school basketball coach, and athletics director. He received his Bachelor’s degree from what is now Henderson State University and spent a summer as resident instructor with the Job Corps before moving to Brevard County, Florida. He has a master’s degree in educational administration from Stetson University. He is a past-president of the Florida Interscholastic Athletic Association and served on its board of directors for thirty years. After a satisfying thirty-year career with the Brevard County School system Wright retired to his home state where he resides in Hot Springs Village. In addition to his wife, Ginger, also a retired educator, he has two sons, one in Florida and the other in Tennessee. A post-retirement interest in genealogy led to discovering that his great-grandfather, Timothy John Barnes, served with Nathan Bedford Forrest during the American Civil War. Further research on Barnes led to Wright’s first three books. Spirits Remembered, Dust, Sweat, And Blood, and Barnes a fictional trilogy with Timothy Barnes as the central character. Mr. Wright has also written Exempt From Fear, Let Them Wait, and Rail’s End. River Bend is his seventh book and each take place during the War, post-War era. Other interests include photography: his photographs have been used on the front cover of each of his books. He also enjoys reading and traveling with his wife. He is currently researching his next book.