Citizen Power

A Mandate for Change
  • Published: January 2008
  • Format: Perfect Bound Softcover(B/W)
  • Pages: 256
  • Size: 6x9
  • ISBN: 9781434343154
  • Overview
  • Free Preview
  • About The Author
  • Customer Review
  • Editorial Review

As author of Citizen Power in 1971, Senator Mike Gravel determined that much of what he wrote then is apropos in America today; hence, the release of Citizen Power: A Mandate for Change that reflects the accuracy of his evaluation of problems then, his current position on a number of issues facing America now, and the process that Americans can undertake to become empowered as lawmakers in partnership with their elected officials.


Most chapters of Citizen Power: A Mandate for Change present material from the original book, as well as new information and revised positions. The exceptions are Chapter 2: The National Initiative, and Chapter 7: The War on Drugs. All other chapters cover similar topics in both books, but with the senator’s fresh insights for today’s world. Each chapter ends with how the National Initiative, once enacted, could help solve the problems presented in that chapter.


The Table of Contents is as follows:


Chapter 1 – Now It’s the Citizen’s Turn

Chapter 2 – The National Initiative

Chapter 3 – America’s Failure in Education

Chapter 4 – Tax Reform – The Fair Tax

Chapter 5 – The Health Security System

Chapter 6 – National Environmental & Energy Policy

Chapter 7 – The War on Drugs

Chapter 8 – Crime & Punishment

Chapter 9 – The Shroud of Secrecy

Chapter 10 – American Imperialism

Chapter 11 – Global Governance

Chapter 12 – Who Stole the American Dream?


Buy This Book

Perfect Bound Softcover(B/W)
Price: $19.95