State of the eUnion

Government 2.0 and Onwards

by John Gøtze & Christian Bering Pedersen



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 11/30/2009

Format : E-Book
Dimensions : E-Book
Page Count : 332
ISBN : 9781449047306
Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 6x9
Page Count : 332
ISBN : 9781449047290

About the Book

34 global thought-leaders share views and ideas about the current state of eGovernment and what has come to be known as Government 2.0.

The book’s themes include:

  • How the "web 2.0" revolution affects eGovernment activities
  • How the digital grassroots, entrepreneurs and 'goverati' are working to change government
  • How new tools, used over the internet, are going to change the way government interacts with citizens

Don Tapscott writes in the book’s foreword: "Every government leader, every elected official and every government employee should read this book and get involved in one of the most exciting challenges of our times – transforming government for effectiveness, relevance and success, enabled by a new medium of communications and required for the emerging citizens of the 21st century. The stakes are very high."

The book's contributors touch on a number of different subjects, all related to making government work better. Some deal with getting government data out into the open, breaking down data silos. Others focus on how to interact with the public through interactive websites. Still others discuss how to facilitate organizational change that will open up government.

About the Author

Edited by John Gøtze and Christian Bering Pedersen, and foreworded by Don Tapscott, the book includes contributions from Richard Allan, Kim Normann Andersen, Tony Bovaird, Lee Bryant, Joanne Caddy, Stephen Collins, Dan Doney, James Downe, Mark Drapeau, Bengt Feil, Dave Fletcher, Michael Friis, Matt Leighninger, Lawrence Lessig, Rolf Lührs, Elke Löffler, Rony Medaglia, Philipp S. Müller, David Osimo, Tim O’Reilly, Tommy Dejbjerg Pedersen, Chris Potts, Steve Radick, Harald Rathmann, Steve Ressler, Alexandra Samuel, W. David Stephenson, Hanne Sørum, Ariel Waldman, David Weinberger and Olov Östberg.