85 Art Songs

by Michael G. Cunningham



Book Details

Language : English
Publication Date : 4/15/2008

Format : Softcover
Dimensions : 8.25x11
Page Count : 236
ISBN : 9781434348142

About the Book

For over 45 years composer Michael G. Cunningham, himself a pianist and singer, created a number of Art Songs, which he now shares with the public. Most are for medium-range voice, and all use poetry from the Renaissance through the early 20th-Century.

About the Author

Michael G. Cunningham was born in Warren, Michigan in l937 and holds music degrees from Wayne State University in Detroit, the University of Michigan, and Indiana University.  Composition has been one of his primary lifetime activities, and since 1958 he has created a large catalog of various types of music for all manner of performance combinations.  From l973 to 2006 he was Professor of Theory/Composition at the University of WisconsinEau Claire.  During that time he created, and continues to create a number of Theory, Composition and other music-related pedagogies.


Pedagogies for Private or Classroom instruction:

1. Musician’s Primer (Beginning Theory)

2. Inner World of Traditional Theory (Rowman and Littlefield pub. Group)

3. Progressive Bach (Chorales minus nonharmonic tones)

4. Romantic Century (l9th Century Harmony/Theory/Composition)

5. Form and Articulation in Music (a needed new book on trad. Form)

6. Divisional Counterpoint (l8th Century)

7. Concert Band Arranging (June 2007)

8. Renaissance Counterpoint (Aug. 2007)